January 6, 2013

Sundays are always a mixture of relaxing and stressful.  This Sunday, I took down the Christmas tree and all the decorations.  I also spent quite a bit of time sweeping and doing dishes, folding laundry and generally getting the house back to reality.   There were more than a few minutes where I seriously considered keeping Christmas up year round but din’t think the tree would really last much longer with 3 animals running through the living room.

We watch the Ravens beat the Colts, and watch Ray Lewis do his final dance in M&T Bank Stadium.  The end of a football era, and one that the people of Maryland and the Ravens Nation will talk about for generations.  I myself am a Saints fan, but I have always admired the energy Ray brings to the game.  He has always been a player to watch, and I look forward to seeing what he will be doing next.

Sunday is also a day I like to make a nice dinner, either a new recipe or one that I know is a favorite.  Pinterest being one of my favorite inspiration spots for cooking. This week I found the perfect dinner idea and I didn’t even need to go shopping for ingredients (BONUS!)

Gimme Some Oven

Hummus Crusted Chicken

So I assembled everything I needed to make a scrumptious version of this great recipe.  Pulled together an easy fresh salad and fixed some mashed potatoes.  As I was pulling the chicken out of the oven, King Edward walked into the kitchen to tell me he was going to go pick up his son Justin, who needed a ride home from work.  Not perfect timing, as I had been cooking for an hour and it was just coming out of the oven.  Did I say that already?

I told Ed to go ahead and see if Justin wanted free dinner, and started setting the table with everything we need for a nice meal.  About 15 minutes later, we have an unexpected dinner guest.  I don’t think I necessarily do it on purpose, but I tend to make enough for four when I cook.  Thinking that there will be leftovers for lunches, etc.  But it always comes in handy if any of our kids drops in to join us for a meal.

The smile on Ed’s face is always bigger and brighter when he has any of his kids near him. Having Justin come for dinner, and then stay and spend some time playing with the dogs, watching TV and joining Ed on his quest for world Call of Duty domination made the whole house that much happier.  We are truly so blessed to have our kids close enough to stop by for dinner, and we are both so genuinely thankful for our unexpected dinner guest.

And by the way, definitely try the chicken, it was phenomenal!

Leave a Reply

