January 2, 2013

The second day of the new year was also my first day back at work.  It was a hectic morning of reading email and updating calendars.  Responding to issues from before the break that had popped up over the shut down.  (For those of you who don’t know, my employer shuts down their facilities from Christmas Eve through New Year’s Day.) A lot of plugging equipment back in and setting up the 2013 organization on my desktop and in my planner.  Nothing life or death, just a lot of little things that needed to be done so we can start the new year right.

It was also a really cold morning here in Albuquerque, meaning the pups had to stay in their kennels instead of going outside.  That meant using my lunch to come home and let them out, instead of going to hoop class.  (Insert sad facial expression here…) So after 9 hours of busy work and various endless tasks, I came home to a suitcase that was still packed, Christmas that is still up, and two very hungry dogs needing dinner…

It was a hectic day, and won’t be the only one this year, or even this week!

Which is why at the end of it all, having my slightly unbalanced kitty jump into my lap an snuggle in made me smile.  I truly love being able to spend time with Nikki Cat that doesn’t involve cringing, screaming, or  bleeding.  Maybe she just sensed I needed a short reprieve from hectic, because when she allows you a moment of cuddle time, it is truly a momentous occasion and you better enjoy it while it lasts.  So for just those few moments, I am truly thankful for my little kitty, her warm little purr and the contentment she reminds me to feel at the little things.

Leave a Reply

