January 3, 2013

Today I was so happy to get back to working out with one of my best fitness inspiration buddies, Carley.  I finally got back into class, today was Yogalates.  This is usually a pretty intense 45 minutes of planking, ab work, and other forms of torture.  Today was less so, as we had a substitute instructor who had mercy on our holiday bloated bodies.   Nonetheless, it was good to stretch out the kinks of two weeks of eating cookies, sleeping on sofas, not working out.

It was really cold again today.  Really, really cold.  When I left the house it was 9 degrees with the windchill.  Needless to say we had to work out some puppy logistics again.  Adding to that, several small crises and a general feeling of, “eh,”  and I was so ready to get out of the office and see the girls (and John, of course) after work.  My Toni-Lei is a very positive force in my life and I truly enjoy our coffee dates.  This week, we had Kat with us and after talking about my trip home, and my new puppy, we turned to hearing from Kat and how she is doing with her impending motherhood, and just why it is that she feels Sophie is a better name than Idabelle….

By the time I got home, I was actually pretty wiped.  Considering I had only worked two days, I really don’t have a right to be that tired.  But, be that as it may, I was exhausted.  I spent a lot of time online that night, which is normally not my routine.  I also spent some time with the puppies and Nikki, who is slowly becoming accustomed to their presence.  And before I knew it it was time for dinner.  But as I was trying to decide what to do, what to make, and whether we would both actually starve if I didn’t cook, out walks my King Edward… with tomato soup.

Yummm… Tomato Soup

Tomato soup that I didn’t have to prepare, or even decide would be dinner.  It just appeared.  Like a bowl full of dinnertime miracles.  I was so happy to just have nourishment delivered to me, without any pre-amble, without discussion or assistance.  Ahhh… dinner.  Sometimes I am just so thankful to have someone else make dinner and bring it to me…  

He even brought me crackers.

Leave a Reply

