January 22, 2013

When you have something you have to do, and want to do, but are nervous about the outcome, it will consume every minute of your time, every thought in your head, and quite possibly some of your basic motor functions.

We are the biggest losers we know.  Yay us!

We are the biggest losers we know. Yay us!

Tomorrow I am giving a speech.  Like a speech, speech.  Like a standing at the podium on a stage, and talking to a crowd of a couple of hundred people speech.  (Are you anxious yet? Just talking about it makes me anxious.)  This past year, my friend Rebekah and I took part in a Biggest Losers competition at work.  We did really great!  Over the last year Team Newbies lost 100 pounds.  Fifty pounds a piece!

I know!

And tomorrow, we are giving a speech to kick off this year’s event.  So, yeah… I am a little consumed with my speech at the moment.  I want to be inspirational, but not cheesy.  I want it to be passionate, but not make people cry.  I want it to be about the program, and about me and Rebekah, and about our journey.  And it should be kind of funny.  And maybe a little sad.  I think I might be a little  obsessive about it, actually.  I have written and re-written my speech four times.

Okay, five times. I keep thinking of other stuff to say!

You see, its like this.  I love what the Biggest Loser program did for me.  I am so proud of my team mate.  I am so proud of the efforts of my trainers.  I am in awe of how much they help people transform their health!  I really want to make sure that the people that come to this year’s kickoff walk away with a spark of inspiration.  That they walk out knowing that they too can do this!

Too much pressure?  I mean, the trainers will be speaking and they are amazing.  They inspired me last year, they will inspire folks this year.  And Rebekah… Wow!  Her story is so impressive!  Couch to half marathon in 8 months!  I should probably relax a little.  I should just be honored to have been invited to speak, and grateful for all that I have learned and all that I have to share with the audience.  But…. I think I will just go with what I know and be a nervous, obsessive wreck until it is over.

I will let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

