January 31, 2013

So today is the last day of the month.  January 31.  I have managed to find some pretty amazing things this month that simply make me grateful.  Thanks for following along with me.  I have found thankfulness for my health, for my friends, and the ability to slow down and enjoy the moment, among many other things.  The process of isolating one thing each day and embracing it as a unique and special gift has given me the ability to see my life much more clearly and from a place of humility.  I am blessed.  Truly blessed.

And just to round the month out, today was another day filled with more little blessings to embrace.

So for my Thursday I packed up my new Lulu and headed out to work.  My mid-day break at yogalates was INSANE!  And thanks to my awesome instructor, I now can’t listen to the song, “Drive By” by Train, without my thighs hurting.  Drive-By thighs were three minutes and ten seconds of agony followed by a five minute plank-a-thon.   Sometimes I wonder if I have had a head injury that I forgot about.  I am not sure why else I would keep doing these things to myself.  (If you want to try some great pilates-based workouts, check out Cassey Ho at Blogilates. She is a great instructor, very motivating, and only slightly insane.)

Coffee is always better with friends.

I also got to see my friends for after work coffee.   This something that several of my friends do as close to once a week as possible.  Its nice to catch up and talk about how everyone is doing.  We may not always be able to find time, but when we do we spend it well.  Over the years our coffee date has grown from just Steph, Toni and me, and now often includes several other friends, even some of the kiddos, and every now and then the men will join us.  We take turns on hosting and always have the best conversations.  More than that, its a way to find support, camaraderie, and encouragement.  Its mostly a time we devote being there for each other.  And it is amazing that we can still find time for it, after 5 years and countless life changes.

And as always, I have the blessing of life with my furry babies and my King Edward.  Its always nice to come home to a warm welcome.

So for the first month of 2013, I can say with absolute certainty that I am truly grateful for everything and everyone that fills my life with joy.  There are so many things to be thankful for…

Leave a Reply

