February 4, 2013

I got to stay home today! I didn’t get to sleep in and I spent most of the day doing homework, but I got to stay home, and that is awesome!

I decided to take a vacation day thinking that Ed would get a day off as well, but he ended up having to go into work, so I got the whole day to myself.  I worked on finishing up my reading for ECON, got a jumpstart on HIST and PSY and generally immersed myself in my academic life.  I also played with the dogs, did a few loads of laundry, and watched about four episodes of Supernatural.  (Jensen Ackles makes me smile.  A lot.)  I was so happy that I had gotten so much homework done that I took an hour and a half and went to go meet my friend Cathy for Jazzercize.

I know what you are thinking.  Jazzercize?

Oldies But Goodies

The Ultimate 80’s Workout?

But it really wasn’t like that.  No leotards, no legwarmers, and no braided headbands taming Olivia Newton John hairdos.  They didn’t even play Let’s Get Physical!  The new look of Jazzercize is way more modern and actually kicked my butt pretty good.  We did stretching, low impact, high impact, worked with hand weights, even did a little Gangnam Style.  It was a blast!  I am not sure I would do it every week, but I will definitely go back again.  It was just plain fun, and a great workout.

I love trying new things, and I appreciate it so much that I have friends like Cathy to point me in new directions and help me find new experiences.  Not just in fitness, but in every aspect of life, the opportunity to share new things with good friends is something to cherish.

All in all a really wonderful day off.

 

Leave a Reply

