March 24, 2013

I spent 48 hours doing homework.  Ok, maybe I took a break to eat, once or twice.  And maybe I went to the bathroom a couple of times.  But for the most part, I spent 48 hours doing school work.

Thank goodness for coffee!

I did manage to get 5 quizzes done,  (4) 100% and (1) 96%.  I also wrote a five page paper, read two chapters, viewed countless PowerPoints and videos and ran more Google searches that any one person should have to do.  But I am all caught up and off for a week of Spring Break! (Woo hoo!)  Thanks goodness for my new Keurig!  Coffee on demand!

I did manage to get the groceries bought, and make a beautiful dinner for Sunday night.  I am not about to start the week without food!

Blackberry Pistachio Salad

This is a total steal from my box’s nutrition page.  The guys at Cantina CrossFit posted a Pistachio salad that looked delish, you can find their recipe here.  I found blackberries on sale, however, so I made a few changes to the recipe.

Ida’s Awesome Blackberry Salad

1 1/2 cups of spinach
1/12 cups spring mix
3/4 cup small yellow tomatoes, halved
1 plum tomato, chopped
1/2 cucumber, chopped
1/2 fresh avocado
3/4 cup fresh blackberries
2 small cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 cup pistachio nuts
cracked black pepper
1/2 lemon, juiced

I added some light Italian to my salad, but you can do whatever you like to finish it off.  It was super yummy, so give this one a try, or do like I did, and make a version of your own!

Hope you all have a wonderful week, remember that no matter how overwhelming your day is, there is always time to find some small item to be thankful for.  Like blackberries on sale, or a supply of fresh coffee.  

Leave a Reply

