March 28, 2013

Surviving the WOD
After a truly awful/awesome WOD full of running. How does Barb still look so dang adorable?

This week has been particularly rewarding for me.  I checked off lots of items on my work list of things to do.  I made hummus from scratch, out of cashews (shut up, what?).  And I hit several personal records for fitness.  I also played with my sweet puppies, made a delicious chicken and roast vegetable bake for dinner on Wednesday, and broke out the Spring dresses for the first time this year.  Add to that the fact that my Scentsy order came in and my whole life is smelling like a rose.  Well, at the moment its smelling like Two Harbors, and that is even better!  I even spent some quality time in my hoop.

How about that recipe for cashew hummus? Got if from the guys at Cantina Crossfit.  For those of you who need to know how its made, here is the recipe.  Get a pencil an paper, this is complicated.

Cashew Nut Hummus

1/3 cup cashews
1 tbs olive oil
3 garlic cloves
3 tbs lemon juice
Dash salt and pepper
Blend into a smooth paste.  Eat

Yummy Cashew Hummus! Yes, you read that right.

Did you get all that?  Complex and overwhelming, right?  Here is my only bit of advice, chop the nuts first.  I had relatively chunky hummus because my little magic bullet wasn’t quite up to the job.  Other than that, this was amazingly delicious!  Need the picture?  I didn’t take one of mine, you can thank me for that.  It sort of looked like chunky peanut butter gone horribly awry.  Here is one that looks appetizing.

As for those personal records in fitness, I ran my first uninterrupted mile and a half, and hit new weights for both the push press and the squat press.  I finished my mile and a half in 16:41, not exactly Olympic speed, but pretty darn good for someone that swore off running in the third grade, just on principle.  And my squat and push press went from 65lbs and 45 lb, to 75lbs and 55lbs respectively.  I am constantly amazed at how much I am enjoying this CrossFit adventure.  I keep trying to figure out how to explain it but I think one of my coaches said it pretty well the other day.  A CrossFit box truly is a “No Judgement Zone.”  You can be the strongest person there, you can be the newest person there, you can be the one with the most limitations, and everyone looks at you and sees “athlete.”  No matter your fitness level, or how long you have been training, or what brought you in the door, they see an athlete, and more importantly they see a member of their team.  When you walk into my box at Cantina CrossFit, you will be welcomed by everyone.  You will get one-on-one training.  You will have other athletes cheering for you and celebrating you and your successes.  When was the last time you went to the gym and they talked with you about nutrition, hydration, stretching, warming up, resting, or heck, anything at all.  So there you go, hot off the heels of a hellacious WOD, and still singing the praises of CrossFit. You have GOT to give this a try.

Wednesday’s 4:30 class. I am betting you can pick out the coach.

I also had the best time with my furry little babies this week.  My Duke is now only slightly smaller than a horse.  My Saki is starting to fight for her food, meaning the little dude is hoovering everything in sight.  He has also reached a “jumping-at-Momma-and-trying-to-drag-her-to-the-floor” phase.  He is slowly learning what “Go lay down!” means.  Although he is still very fuzzy on “Stop jumping on me!”   We are working on it.  Saki continues to tempt my patience by finding the nearest patch of dirt to roll in, as soon as she seems dry, directly after her bath.  You can see the results of her skill here.  This was taken 6 hours after bath time.

image

A sleepy, happy, dirty yet again Saki dog

And, of course, my sweet little Nikki angel (demon) is still waging a one-cat-war on the dogs that have infiltrated her home.  She gets remarkably close to each of them and then spits and hisses and runs away.  She does not slap at them.  They are both much bigger than she is.  Last night she got nose to nose with Duke and was sniffing at him in an almost friendly manner, until he made a sudden movement.  Then she bolted halfway across the room.  Its progress though.  All three of the furry kids got new toys this week, although Saki has already eaten a hole in hers and she and Duke have both had their toys taken away.  It is a difficult concept to teach a dog, that they have been grounded from their toys.  Mostly because they can easily replace their toys with, say, Mommy’s Lululemon yoga shorts….

Two Harbors is like sunshine and ice cream and happiness and love. With a hint of lime.

The sweetest smelling part of the week, no doubt, was the delivery of my Scentsy haul.  I agonized over these scents for what was an unseemly amount of time.  If you have never tried Scentsy, you do not know what you are missing.  This is a hundred times better than anything you can get in the stores. The fragrances are fabulous and they last for ages!  Its almost annoying, because you really want to try a million difference scents and the ones you have are still in your collection.  This is one of the new ones that I got last night and it is amazing!  Two Harbors is a lemon-lime with a vanilla amber twist.  But what it really is, is a mixture of joy and gelato, with a touch of that awesome sherbet punch that your favorite aunt makes, but only on special occasions.  Needless to say, my house smells like heaven!

So there you have it.  All the wonders of a pretty happy week.  A ton of tiny blessings and,  best of all, the ability to recognize them and rejoice.  

Happy Easter and Happy Passover to everyone!

2 responses

  1. You couldn’t have summed up the Scentsy conundrum more aptly. You love it. You want it. It lasts forever so you don’t really ‘need’ any more…but you love it…and you want it. It’s a vicious, wonderful, tempting, immensely satisfying cycle – and I am only too happy to help you get your ‘fix’.

    1. Thanks Jenn! Glad to know you got my back on my scent-addiction!

      Seriously though, I am gonna need a whole lot of that Two Harbors, that scent is the bomb-a-diggity….

Leave a Reply

