April 7, 2013

I am exhausted.  I have had so much to do these last few days and so little time, it seems, to do it.  But I had a really productive week and am feeling pretty good about a lot of my big rocks for the Spring.  On Friday, I had my first lesson in Escrima at lunch.  It was pretty awesome, actually.  I am sure I looked fairly idiotic, but it was really cool to learn.  I have always wanted to learn a form of martial arts, and this one seems like a good fit!  We will see if I decide to stick with it.

Friday afternoon my kitchen and I had an “up-close-and-personal” chat.  It has been behaving badly lately.  If you know me at all, you know that I despise doing the dishes, probably more than any other job in the house. Despise it.  Really.  But since it stubbornly refuses to clean itself, I had to give in and spend two hours cleaning and mopping and organizing and generally making it a useful room again.  We have decided to play nice, at least for a while.

Saturday morning, tragedy struck.  The Keurig (yes the brand new Keurig) stopped brewing.  Calamity!  I had it packed up in its box and ready to return to the store so fast you would think I had done it by magic.  Which I did, the magic of WHERE IS MY COFFEE!!!!!!  Ed and I made a morning of it, went to breakfast, checked out the new Target, and then finally got him a new cell phone (which, I must say, has cut down on the swearing coming from his chair immeasurably.)  After that, we got ready and met his daughter Amanda, and her cousin Danielle at the ball park to enjoy a little baseball and some good company.

Photo: Night at Isotopes Park

Opening Weekend – Isotopes Park

Saturdays have a funny habit of turning into Sundays, which is the day you remember all the things you were going to try and get done over the weekend are still on your to-do list.  Instead of going on the Sunday Run Club  Cantina Crawl, with the people from Cantina Crossfit, I ended up sweeping, mopping, and dusting the living room and doing laundry (and burpees, I mean come on, its only day seven of the challenge) and then working to clean up the flower bed and plant some new living green things.  The king and I even started talking front yard landscaping and porch revitalization.  Hopefully we can keep on that momentum.

image

Some pretty plants for the porch.

image

Grandma’s Irises are starting to bloom.

image

Yummmmmm!

And while shopping for all things landscape, I found this little treasure at, of all places, Lowes!  This is hands down my favorite barbecue sauce in the entire world.  I fell in love with it way back in the 1990s, when I found it in a flea market in North Carolina.  Every now and then I will come across it in some random store or another.  This stuff makes the best wings on the planet, so if you happen into a Lowes, check and see if it is in the section with the grill accessories, you will thank me for it! Honestly.

And while I didn’t really go too crazy this weekend, I did manage to spend some time practicing a new hoop trick, hanging out with the dogs and the kitty, and had a nice weekend of doing things inside and out with my King Edward.  Overall just enjoying life a little.  What a great way to start off the Spring season, feeling like I am getting things done.  I am even all caught up on homework! Well, for now.

A mixture of chores and treats is a great way to feel like you have accomplished a lot.  Even small tasks feel impressive when you have checked them off the to-do list. 

Have a wonderful week everyone!

Leave a Reply

