May 7, 2013

I am absolutely pleased to say that the semester is finished!  If nothing catastrophic happens with the grading of my paper, I should be looking at 2 A’s and an A+ for my final grades.  Keep your fingers crossed for me.

This semester was a rough one.  All of my classes were labor intensive and all were complicated in different ways.  Now that they are finished, I find myself relishing the thought of a summer unencumbered by schoolwork.  I am sure I will pay for that later, I should just be getting on with it, but I am not feeling it this semester.  A break is warranted.

This semester was also full of work for, well, work.  My job was very busy for the last several months.  We had a triennial program review to plan, execute, and generally have nightmares over.  I had several, and they increased in repetition the closer we got to the review.  I am happy to report that every went well, and I think I would have received an A+ on that assignment as well.

So I have been busily finishing up school and work projects, going in and out of the box and working my butt off to build a little muscle and endurance.  (And burn off stress and stave off fatigue at the same time.) I missed a lot of hoop class, but still managed some hoop time, and even got my Jay into the spirit on Take Our Kids to Work Day.  He hooped with my trainer and she rewarded him with a gorgeous smile, and a big hug.

Over the last two weekends, Ed and I, with the help of Ed’s son Justin and his best friend Jacob (assisted by the most adorable 2-year old foreman you ever met) started working to rejuvenate the front yard.

Photo: Tilling up the front yard.

Justin, Ed, and Jacob, working on the yard.

Now that we have lovely level dirt, we have to dig some more to lay the irrigation system.  I have been banished from digging, as the King says watching me dig raises his blood pressure.  Its too bad he didn’t feel that way about letting me move rock, he seemed all for that!  No matter, no digging for me!  While Ed is digging, I can be busy going to the box, and hot yoga, maybe even a farmer’s market or two…  Until the irrigation is down, I won’t have much to do.  Once it is in, however, I will be busy planting and making the yard look beautiful!

The puppy has grown into a horse, which we knew he would but it took us by surprise anyway.  He is, at 6 months, able to reach up and stare over the kitchen counters.  He is twice the size of Saki dog, and although he is large and ungainly, he is also a big teddy bear who just loves to be loved on.  I am also happy to report that the dogs and cat are living together in what can only be called disdainful acceptance.  Which is fine with me, they are not bothering each other.

So, all in all, the summer season is starting off well with good news all around and lots of fun things to keep me going.  I am thankful for the reprieve from school work, and looking forward to a summer filled with new adventures and hopefully some familiar faces. Maybe a visitor or two.  Maybe some fun trips to new places.  Who knows.  I will make sure to keep you posted.  No matter what, I am blessed to have so many wonderful people to share this summer with!

Leave a Reply

