June 16, 2013

Sometimes  it seems like the Universe is stacking up blessings at your feet.  They are usually disguised as everyday ordinary occurrences, or opportunities to spend more time smiling. Like this weekend, for instance. Friday the King and I spent the evening with our friends Jacob and Cathy.  We had a wonderful dinner at Sushi and Saki (although, that is the last all you can eat sushi I attempt) and then we went bowling at the bowling alley next door.  For those of you that know me at all, you know that “inconsistent” is usually the nicest thing you can say about my bowling abilities.  But Friday I got my highest score ever, despite an incredibly slow start to the game.  I have no idea how I pulled this off, but I guess bowling isn’t so bad…

This was a crazy game!

Saturday, I actually slept in for the first time in months.  I stayed in bed until almost 8:30!  (well, after waking up at 5:30 and putting the dogs out, I went back to bed and stayed there.)  Ed and I grabbed a couple of burritos and then went to help my WODsister move into her new place.  It was a really pretty day, and it was nice to be outside together.  Ed tends to stay inside when he is off.  I guess when you work out in the sun all day, its not as much fun to just be outside. At least without a fishing pole.

After that we tried this new restaurant for lunch, Flamez.  It was a little pricey, but OOOOHHHHH EMMMMMMM GEEEEEE!  It was delish!  They had a great selection of different kinds of burger patties to choose from, check it out:

flamez

Ed declared them to be the best burgers he has ever eaten.  That is pretty impressive coming from him.  I am not really a big burger person, so I had the Caprese sandwich, and let me tell you…. Yum! We had two meals and an appetizer and it was about $35.00, so not outrageous.  Check it out if you are in the area.

I also got several of the plants I requested from Spring Hill Nursery, they were delivered on Saturday.  The grab bag of full sun perennials ended up being four potentially large shrubberies (which is a word that never fails to remind me of Monty Python. “we are the knights who say Ni!”)  We will see if these plants manage to live.  We may have over fertilized the yard area a little when we were planning on putting in grass, so the soil there could be anywhere from perfect to highly corrosive.  It should be interesting to find out which end of the spectrum it falls on.

After lunch we went to our friends’ house for a barbecue.  These were the same group of friends that went with us to the lake, and so we had to have a corn-hole rematch.  The new boards are a little slick, so it will take a little more practice for Jenn and I to take back the crown.  But we will…. oh yes, we will. I am wondering how much the margaritas had to do with our less than killer scores.  Maybe the jello shots were a factor.  Hard to say.

Sunday morning was my first PiYo in the Park with my friend Angie teaching the class.  It was great!  What a nice way to start the day!  Grisham Park in Northeast Albuquerque is a great little park with exorcise equipment and big shade trees.  Its also right down the street from my house.  It was a good stretch and a nice start to the day. And with that out of the way, the rest of the day could be spent in Father’s Day mode.  I called my Daddy (who is the paramount example of fatherhood on the planet, thank you very much) and we talked about the US Open and yard maintenance, as well as his and mom’s upcoming visit.  If only he were closer, I would have loved to see him for Father’s day.

But, the King woke up to a nice card, courtesy of yours truly.  He also got to play his Xbox all uninterrupted-like while I was out at PiYo.  Then he got homemade brunch, also courtesy of yours truly, although the cat helped (mostly by sitting in his lap.)  After brunch he got calls from all of his kids, from his Auntie Jenny, his mom, and a really nice facebook post from a young man he essentially helped to raise.  He also got a call from Jay, which was very sweet but I am not sure how he rates.  On mother’s day, all I got was a text from my son, yet Ed gets a call…. hmmm….

Since both of the boys were working, we went to BWW to see them, and the girls also came by with their boyfriends.  They got Ed his very own cheesecake and a really sweet card for Father’s day, and of course, several rounds of drinks for him to share with his kids. Needless to say, he was in heaven.

I even “let” him play more Xbox.

A whole lot of happy memories rolled up into two days, some good food, great friends, and loving family. 

Leave a Reply

