August 3 & 4, 2013

Hello again, its been a while.

I apologize for not posting lately.  It has been a fairly busy summer and a lot has happened.  Instead of recounting it all suffice it to say that all is well.  There may have been a few days where my thankfulness was not as apparent, that I should have focused more on the best than the worst that occupied my life.  There were even some days I forgot to look for the bright spots entirely.  But those days were few and far between.

Today, I am awash with gratitude. So we are going to focus on today.

This past weekend, I competed in the Summer Fitness Throwdown. This was the first CrossFit competition to come up since I joined Cantina CrossFit, and several of the women I work out with regularly and I decided to form a team and compete.  None of us are at a competitive level, but our coaches encouraged every member of the box, telling us that we should not be afraid to compete, that if we can do the WODs there, we can compete in a larger arena.

I have never really been an “athlete.”  For some reason, marching band doesn’t really count. (I was the rifle captain, we did some pretty athletic stuff during those shows!)  So this was really the first time I was in this type of situation.  Intimidating competitors, high intensity atmosphere, and cheering, screaming, groaning onlookers.  It was overwhelming.  I was terrified.  I wanted to either throw up (which would have been acceptable) or run away (which would not have been as acceptable.) I ended up settling for going to the bathroom six times before our first heat started.

The morning competition – sprints, walking lunges, and push presses – was harder than I thought it would be. I started to get scared that I was going to pass out mid-lunge and embarrass my team.  But I didn’t, and we got through the heat and managed to finish two full rounds before time ended.  After that, I began to really have fun.  We could do this.  I could do this!  We cheered on the other two teams from our box, and watched athletes of ridiculous ability go out and do their thing.  It was amazing.

In life, there are some moments that take your breath away and leave you feeling humbled and powerful all at once.  This was one of those moments.

Never had the feeling of being cheered like this. This was an amazing moment for me, and I am so thankful I was given this gift.
Image credit: Jennifer Foley Jungmann

By the end of the second round of competition, I was on a high like I had never felt before.  I felt strong.  Even knowing that there were dozens of people stronger than me competing, I felt like the strongest woman on the planet in that moment.

Photo

Team Gunslinger Girls with our coach, Chad
Image credit: Jennifer Foley Jungmann

We spent two days at the Throwdown.  Competing and talking, and cheering on our teams.  The atmosphere was charged with a current run from the electricity of all the cross-fitters that came out to rally around their “Sport of Fitness.”  After the second day of competition, when things were winding down, and the athletes were beginning to file out, it hit me…  the overwhelming sense of thankfulness that I held.  For the women on my team, for the coaches that encouraged us, and for the athletes that cheered us, from Cantina as well as from other boxes. I am so blessed to have this in my life.  It reminds me that I am amazing, even as I seek to become a better me. 

Team Cantina
Image Credit: Apryl Lewis

Leave a Reply

